Yoda's diet

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by dredleviathan, Jan 16, 2004.

1. dredleviathan

dredleviathan New Member

Hi there,

I've been looking at Yoda's journal today and noticed that many of his aims for the next couple of months are very simialr to mine. So I am primarily aiming these questions at him but please do all chip in any ideas that you have!

Yoda you mention that your dietary goals are for a high protein, low fat, moderate carb diet. This seems to make sense to me to considering that I have 10kgs of flab to shift and I'm still unable to exercise as much as I like due to am ankle injury.

I have no previous experience of dieting in any fashion (although I have lived with my girl for 3 years so not conmpletely out of touch).

In the past I have only ever needed to pick up the cardio to lose any excess but this seems harder now and like I explained even more difficult due to injury.

Anyway I've been doing a bit of research but I'm still no nearer to actually formulating a diet as such, so I have some questions:

1. I read that you need abou 100g of carbohydrate per day to prevent ketosis i.e. you need the carbs to assist in the metabolization of fat. Presumable this is a pretty ball park figure and this would change at least in accordance with the individual's weight? So by Yoda's definition what constitutes a moderate amount of carbs per day based on my current weight of 93kgs (target 83kgs)?

2. Low fat - no problem

3. High protein - similar question to #1. I will be re-starting my weights program and concentrating on strength training. I realize that I should be eating a certain amount of protein per day. Again what consitutes a high protein diet? How many g's should I aim for per day?