what to do to speed up recovery

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by glenchuy, Oct 18, 2004.

1. glenchuy

glenchuy has two left feet

i don't know what's wrong with my body, and lately, i've been feeling that i get tired a lot more easily, probably stress at work.

ever since i started training, i've been steadily increasing my cardio time, my reps, the weights, but lately, not only have i been NOT increasing the weights, i can HARDLY finish my sets now. no, it's not the strain that i normally get on my last reps on my last sets, it's that starting the third set is even putting a huge strain on me. after my bench press, today, i was so tired that i unknowingly dozed off for about 5 mins.

as i do not know what the heck is wrong with me, i can only think that i'm probably just a little stressed out, anybody got any tips for me to get back on track? i'm afraid to "rest" for a week or so because i think it's going to set me back a lot. i don't think it's my diet either, since i've been eating the same foods for like... um... forever. could it be because my body is telling me to start eating more? and if it was, how do i know? i'm not hungry, i don't feel hungry, should i be eating more?

i'm 5'8", 130lbs and built more like an athlete. i think i read somewhere that a massage would do wonders, however, there are so many types of massages that i don't know which one to pick. anybody have any other suggestions? help!!!

2. Ad McG

Ad McG Troll-killer Supporter

Rest for a week. You will come back as strong, if not stronger. Get as much sleep as you can too. Keep eating healthily and you can start again. No athletes train constantly, you have to have a break. Read up on periodization.

3. TkdWarrior

TkdWarrior Valued Member

give your self couple of weeks of rests and then come back and write new routine for you...
    -TkdWarrior-

4. ClubbellTrainer

ClubbellTrainer Fitness Coach

You brought up a lot of issues here, some of which are quite deep.