Push Up myths?

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by Ferret, Nov 20, 2008.

1. Ferret

Ferret Valued Member

I'm female, and can do both regualr push-ups and kneeling push-ups, but I have a tendancy to kneel when I do them these days as I've heard that doing it the normal way is bad for women? I never thought to look this up until now, and can only find opinions, rather than biological facts. Any ideas?

Also, what parts of the body do each specifically work on? Regular would be arms, back and shoulders... but what about the kneeling variation?

2. CosmicFish

CosmicFish Aleprechaunist

I'm no expert on pushups by any stretch of the imagination, but for what it's worth here's my thoughts:

In general women can train in exactly the same way as men. It's a biological fact that women are on average weaker than men, but that's no reason for a woman to train any differently to a man. A weak man would train in the same way as a strong man, only with less weight, so why should women be any different.

In fact, the only difference I can think of off the top of my head is the Q angle, but that won't affect pressups.

Also, as far as I know, both kneeling and normal pressups work the same bodyparts, it's just that kneeling ones are easier. If I were you, I'd skip kneeling pressups and stick to doing proper pressups, seeing as you can. They'll do more for you.

3. Ferret

Ferret Valued Member

Ok, thanks!

4. pauli

pauli mr guillotine

there is a wholly obsolete view (apparently, extinct amongst everyone on the planet other than a few martial arts instructors, oddly) that standard pushups will cause a woman's uterus to detach. it's complete and utter hogwash, but one does run into it from time to time. blame the victorians, from what i understand.

5. Smitfire

Smitfire Cactus Schlong

Personally (speaking as a weak man) I do full press-ups for as long as I can and then switch to knee press-ups to finish.