newbie here

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by matt271, Apr 12, 2007.

1. matt271

matt271 New Member

i just joined this forum.

i got introduced to jiu jitsu by a friend like 5 months ago. i got really interested in it. my interest changed from jiu jitsu to submission grappling in mma.

anyways 2-3 months in, i was working w/ a new guy. he was pretty big and strong, and had a TKD background. i was kind of letting him get submissions on me so he could get used to it, but i noticed his armbar wasnt very tight. i gave him some pointers "pull in my arm as close as u can. squeeze ur knees together tight as u can." etc than at the end i said "bridge" but he must have heard "bridge as hard as u can"... we heard a big POP! sound.

the next day my arm was sore as **** so i went to get it checked at the hospital. they x rayed my arm wrong and told me it wasnt broken. they said it was some tendon thing and gave me stretches to do. these stretches hurt like ****. but after 2 months my arm felt better, and i went back to training.

i had 2 or 3 days w/out my arm giving me any probs at all, thought it was great. then resisting an armbar, i had grabbed my hands together and wiggled my head from under his leg to come up it his guard. right as i thought i was safe, another POP! this time he didnt even get the armbar.

i went to the hospital the next day, and they x rayed it and saw my forearm was broken. i tried to explain to the doctor what happened, but he had no idea what jiu jitsu was. they looked at my file and saw the first x ray was the wrong part of my arm. its funny cuz i told them "its more here than the elbow" and they said the x ray will cover my whole arm. anyways the doctor was convinced i broke it blocking a kick, after i kept telling him what happened.