Home Gym

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by selonimes, Apr 19, 2012.

1. selonimes

selonimes Valued Member

New poster here in the Health and Fitness section.

I am brand new to martial arts yet have been into physical training for a while. I am about to create a space outside that will be functional for both crossfit type exercises, martial arts of some kind(once I am in a steady program) and a play area for the kids. All of which I think could find a way of working.

With that said I was wondering if anyone trains at home or at a teachers home and what do they use for a set up. My first class was in an garage turned office/studio.

Any ideas where to get some good inspiration? I've only seen one home crossfit gym playground via google, but it didn't seem all that good for martial arts.

Should I be thinking more garden zen like or monster garage gym?

Edit: If this should be moved someplace else please do so as I wasn't sure of a good place for it.

Last edited: Apr 19, 2012
  2. shootodog

shootodog restless native

my dream set-up (which my friend stole from me) is:

1) wall to wall jigsaw mats.
    2) heavy bag
    3) banana bag
    4) string ball
    5) speed ball
    6) medicine balls
    7) kettlebells
    8) heavy bag (on the floor) for groundwork
    9) SUV tyre (for sledgehammer work, stance conditioning, stick work)

3. selonimes

selonimes Valued Member

I was thinking this would be more outside rather than inside. It does offer the question of what might serve me better in the long rum. Maybe the solution is something that can be covered.

Any thoughts?

4. 47MartialMan

47MartialMan Valued Member

A separate dojo/room built like;

[​IMG]
    (a little larger)

Or you could save expense and easy to take down;
    [​IMG]

5. WingChunMelb

WingChunMelb Valued Member