When your eyes are opened

Discussion in 'Boxing' started by Ero-Sennin, Jun 26, 2012.

1. Ero-Sennin

Ero-Sennin Well-Known Member Supporter

For anyone who has followed the "first day sparring" thread of mine you'll know I've recently begun getting into boxing. If you haven't, I'm still very interested to hear your opinion on the questions I'm going to ask after the build up to it.

I'm getting a lot better with sparring and much of it is coming with relaxing. I've always been decent at picking up stuff with fighting whether it be grappling, ground fighting, or whatever you name it. I wouldn't say I'm a natural at it, but I can think, work hard, and apply which works well with the learning curve.

Yesterday though, I got to see the instructor spar. People who are a challenge technically for me all of a sudden looked like a complete beginner. The guy is good at boxing as far as skill (haven't had the opportunity to get hit hard by him yet). It was a whole different level. Parrying, bobbing and weaving, footwork, quickness, the whole bit.

Needless to say any progress I've currently made was brought down to "yeah, I'm still a complete novice" compared to his skill level.

What was the biggest difference in what I could see him do other then a refinement of skill and composure that comes from years of practice, was what I would call an ability to see. His eyes were opened in a more poetic then literal sense. His ability to anticipate, react, and the fluidity of it all came from his being able to see what was coming, seeing openings, etc..

I talked to him a bit about it and obviously the discussion was about gaining experience, what kind of experience to seek out, and that sort of thing. He told me it took about a year of serious training to be able to really see and make sense of things going on in the ring when fighting.