What should a Judo noob look out for?

Discussion in 'Judo' started by Lad_Gorg, Nov 14, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lad_Gorg

Lad_Gorg Valued Member

I'm looking to add some Judo into my training. However due to low funds and lack of selection in clubs, I'll most likely be taking Judo classes at the University's Sport Center. Due to that condition I'm a bit skeptical about the quality of the classes. So as a complete noob in any form of grappling, what should I watch out for with regards to low quality Judo?

Also the club has set up 3 categories that students can join, 1 for complete beginners, 2 for intermediates, and 3 for advanced students. What's your take in this seperation system?
    From a TKD and MT stance this would be a bit counter-productive since the beginners don't have role models to look up to or to challenge themselves with, and also the more advanced students wouldn't be able to help out the beginners with techniques. But I imagine that this is done to ease and speed up the lessons.

2. Princess Haru

Princess Haru Valued Member

Why do you assume the quality would be low? A couple of years ago we had a world champion at our University club, and usually have at least a couple of national level players.

From a not quite noob but older person view, my difficulty is all these tweenies are just a lot faster than me, and usually very competitive. The art is often secondary to winning.

There are two levels at our club, which though not ideal is better than just the one. Beginners have their own class on Thursdays, with senior students encouraged to attend to help out. Obviously this is more technique based. There are two more classes which beginners can attend in the second term once they have at least a grounding in technique and breakfalls :)

Last edited: Nov 14, 2012
  3. aikiwolfie

aikiwolfie ... Supporter

Quite often in martial arts, high quality practice and price have no relation to one another.

4. Ozid