What does your Kiai sound like?

Discussion in 'Karate' started by Flying Shadow, Dec 2, 2004.

1. Flying Shadow

Flying Shadow New Member

When I started training it was some thing like this: HAAAAR!!!!

But now it sound like this: (winding up) AHHH... (letting it rip) SAAAAAA!!!!

Or when I'm really pumped: IIIISSSSSSSSSS.. SAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!

So in my dojo you'll hear some idiot going: Ahhh SAAAH... Ahhh SAAAH Ahhh SAAAH (like the pony tail dude in karate kid III) and then IIIISSSSSSSSSSS SAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!!!

I made a baby in the audience cry once whilst doing heian yodan.

What does your Kiai sound like?

2. Ikken Hisatsu

Ikken Hisatsu New Member

3. semphoon

semphoon walk idiot, walk.

"SHORYUOKEN" or "YOGA FIRE"

4. Flying Shadow

Flying Shadow New Member

I mean real Kiais.

5. MuayKiDo

MuayKiDo Che!

Sort of like a long scream, but then lower: HHRRAAAAAAAAAAHHH!
    When we do kata's it's like HHRRAAAAAIIIIII! and HRHOOOOOOHHHH!

6. Flying Shadow

Flying Shadow New Member

Actually there's this guy from our "sister" dojo who comes over to our classes sometimes and when he does his kata and comes to a kiai point he screams:

SEEEEEEEEAAAATTT!!!!!! (just like how you'd say the thing your sitting on right now)

It takes all my strength and will power to hold back my snickering and school girlish giggles.

7. semphoon

semphoon walk idiot, walk.

Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

Humpthd

Braka Braka Braka

8. MuayKiDo

MuayKiDo Che!

Some peeps just literally scream "Kiaaai!". In my opinion, the word kiai as a kiai in itself isn't really handy if you want to use your lungs at their best.

9. Flying Shadow

Flying Shadow New Member

Please stop destroying my thread.

10. Flying Shadow

Flying Shadow New Member

Was talking about semphoon not you MuayKiDo in the last post.

But yeah same at my dojo we're first taught to shout "Kiai" which means shout in japanese anyway. Felt unnatural so I dropped it.

11. JohnnyX

JohnnyX Map Addict