The Olympic Dilemma

Discussion in 'Karate' started by Dirk Dagger, Jan 23, 2004.

1. Dirk Dagger

Dirk Dagger I Love Kelly Hu

I have been competing for a few years right now and it really saddens me that I don't see Karatedo in the Olympics. If you compare Competition TKD and Competition Karate, I can see that TKD is more brutal than Karate. The competitors hit their opponents in full contact and a knockout is considered as a win. In my tournament experience here in the Philippines, I see more of my TKD friends get more injured than me or any of my Karate buddies. The only difference is that Sports TKD wears protective gear and in Karate all there is, is a mouth guard and a glove.

So why is Karate not in the Olympics? :(

2. Yoshukai

Yoshukai New Member

have you ever tried kyokushin or other full contact karates?

3. Paul Herbert

Paul Herbert New Member

I believe (Don't quote me) that Karate is being trialed at the 2008 Olympics and officially being recognised at the 2012 games. This will be the WKF rules system which is very light and continuous, ie spectator friendly.

4. kempocos

kempocos Valued Member

In the USA the TKD sparring I have seen in competitions is very light point sparring. I never heard that TKD is more brutal than say kyokushin or GOJU RYU in ompetition at least in the tornamnets I have looked into.

5. Tosh

Tosh Renegade of Funk

Hope you don't mind quoting you ;) :D

IMHO this does not constitute spectator friendly.

But then again I think a more "visual" element needs to be introduced before either MA will gain much popularilty in the olympics.

Think we need some technolgy to help us here. :D

6. shoto-kali

shoto-kali The Chosen One