The main weakness of BJJ

Discussion in 'Brazilian Jiu Jitsu' started by Revanchist, Apr 6, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Revanchist

Revanchist Valued Member

Now don't get me wrong, I'm not trying to start a flame war or even to insult BJJ itself... It is a very well thought out, well executed system that is extremley effective in a plethora of situations.

I have been learning under BJJ for about 3 years now, twice a week, and I can't help but notice the main weakness of BJJ.

It's not striking. Any decent BJJ practioner can close the distance and take the fight to the ground against a fairly well trained striker before being incapacitated. *usually*
    Grappling against Judo or other lock systems is about equal, and really comes down to person to person.
    It's not flexibility, theres a move for anything in BJJ.

The main weakness is that in the split second it takes to preform the move, or even initiate it, the BJJ practioner is completely open to a cheap shot.

Now, having trained in Krav Maga for 6 years, I have been trained to ALWAYS take the nut shot/throat shot in a situation, and from angles that most people wouldn't expect, so I'm sure with most people its a moot point unless your grappling someone who knows Krav Maga. (Where or why this would happen is not my place to decide)
    I just can't get over how easy it is when I'm freelance sparring with my friends and classmates who do judo and BJJ to take a cheap shot and them never see it coming.
    Anyone agree? Disagree?

2. Custom Volusia

Custom Volusia Valued Member

It's another art. No art out there is a perfect system. Really, every art is open to 'cheap' shots at some point. That's why they are cheap.