The Importance of Standing

Discussion in 'Tai chi' started by Yin-Yang Boxer, Feb 7, 2007.

1. Yin-Yang Boxer

Yin-Yang Boxer Banned Banned

Hello all,
    I'm sure most people on the Tai Chi board will agree that standing practice is important to TaijiQuan practice.

Personally, I practice "Taiji" 3-Circle QiGong for my standing practice. My main focus is developing leg strength, body alignment ,soft power and deep abdominal breathing.
    At the moment, I stand on average for 20 minutes per session, twice a day. Once in the morning, at about 7am, and once in the evening, at about 8pm. I've been doing this for about 9 months now. Before then, I was just doing about 10 minutes at each TaijiQuan session I attended with my teacher.

I'm interested in hearing the opinions of others here on the subject of standing practice. What methods do you practice? What do you feel you get out of it? How long have you been practicing for?

Many regards,

Yin-Yang Boxer

2. hegu

hegu Valued Member

hi

You remembered me to incorporate the 3 Circle standing Qigong again in my daily Taiji routine. I used to do it for 15 minutes and it was really heavy to do. I use to have more problems with mental concentration than with physical endurance. I must try that Qi gong today again.
    BY

3. Yin-Yang Boxer

Hello hegu,
    Like everything, it takes time to build the stamina to hold the position softly for long periods. As always, the key is practice.

It's definately well worth getting back into.

Many regards,

Yin-Yang Boxer

4. middleway

middleway Valued Member

i hope my friend sam posts on this ... he stands for along time every day and has really found something from it ... he has been doing it for years now ...

come on sam sam the standing man!

:D

Chris

5. Yin-Yang Boxer

Hello middleway,
    I look forward to hearing from Sam (joins in the chanting). While we wait, do you stand? If so, what method do you use?

Many regards,

Yin-Yang Boxer

6. Visage

Visage Banned Banned