[Tang Soo Do] Respectfully asking for suggestions.

Discussion in 'Other Styles' started by RConklin, Dec 21, 2008.

1. RConklin

RConklin New Member

I have trained in Tang Soo Do for more than 12 years. My problem is that my instructor was not certified by any organization. The area I live now in has no Tang Soo Do schools that I can join and I have since lost contact with my original instructor. I was awarded the rank of second Dan by my instructor who was said to hold the rank of fifth Dan. I have no Dan number and no certificate of ranking and I am not recognized by any organization. I have been training on my own now for almost eight years since receiving my second Dan. I have continued my training through video's, books, and the internet. I have also been awarded my third Degree black belt in American Karate and am an instructor at my Dojo. However, I want to teach Tang Soo Do. I do not want to be part of an organization who charges insane amounts of money to promote their students. I want to teach and be part of a Traditional Martial art. I want to open my own school based on the principles of respect, perseverance, structure, and discipline. I want to be able to offer tutelage to anyone who want's to learn and not charge them an arm and a leg for doing so but only what is necessary to keep the Dojang open. I don't want to make money. I just want to be recognized by a legitimate organization and have any future students recognized as well. If anyone has any suggestions I am all ears. I do not mean any disrespect by this request and hope I am not offending anyone.
    Thank you for your time
    Tang Soo!

Mod edit ~ Personal contact removed, please see TOS 1.4. Cheers - Sam

Last edited by a moderator: Dec 21, 2008
  2. Spinmaster

Spinmaster Valued Member