SPEAR moaning again...

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by Whit, Oct 12, 2016.

1. Whit

Whit Valued Member

Yet more allegations from SPEAR that Spartan gear has ripped off their idea.

http://www.spartantraininggear-scam.com/

You would have thought they would spend the money on a patent case rather than a trash talk website. Which leads me to think they dont have one.

2. John Titchen

John Titchen Still Learning Supporter

They don't have one because Tony may have sketched a design on a napkin, but it was the designer at the now Spartan warehouse that actually designed the gear. When Tony parted company from them to pursue his US contracts they were free to keep improving the product.

Tony keeps harping on about this and I've noticed that even I've been the subject of rubbish from him. In the ones I've seen he fails to mention that I was a published author on the subjects in which I teach before I even met him, or that my karate system was called DART before I spent a year as part of BTS and they had no objections then. :) Selective memory.

Last edited: Oct 12, 2016
  3. Whit

Whit Valued Member

I did look into SPEAR before i did DL as both play on the use of natural instinct.

4. Whit

Whit Valued Member

Even wikipedia doesnt like it.

" It has since been adopted by several military and law enforcement agencies across the world.[citation needed]"

5. John Titchen

The use of flinch based responses is common in a number of martial arts and predates Blauer and his training.

6. Hannibal

Hannibal Cry HAVOC and let slip the Dogs of War!!! Supporter

You missed the "tm" off when you mentioned him...... :D

7. Whit

Whit Valued Member

Funny thing is i've been hearing some rumours that SPEAR™ is being replaced in the police manuals with something else.

8. John Titchen

So far as I'm aware it has because they refused to use his trademarked name or buy into the whole system.

9. Whit

Whit Valued Member