Solo push hands exercises

Discussion in 'Tai chi' started by AmericanFighter, Apr 14, 2010.

1. AmericanFighter

AmericanFighter Valued Member

Hey I am doing yang style tai chi and have been doing push hands for a while I was wondering are there any solo exercises i could do that i could find online.

thanks in advance.

2. AndrewTheAndroid

AndrewTheAndroid A hero for fun.

I am no expert but I have been told that qigong helps develope your push hands.

I was specifically taught to this exercise for atleast 15 minutes. And there is another one where you hold your arms out to the side. Of course you are trying to keep relaxed while you do this.

[​IMG]

http://www.flickr.com/photos/savethepicture/542277265/sizes/m/

I was also told to practice cloud hands more.

BUT the main thing is that there really isn't a substitute for push hands, nor sparring, ect...

3. AmericanFighter

thats hold the ball posture. So you just stay in that posture the whole time?

yha we meet once or twice a week and practice the yang 103 and push hands for 3 and a half hours so its not a substitute but i just want something to practice with when I don't have.

4. AndrewTheAndroid

Yup, It' get's kinda boring so sometimes I'll turn on some music, but some might say that detracts from the meditation part of the exercise.

DO you mind if I ask, are you doing more free style or choreographed push hands?

5. AmericanFighter

At the moment i am doing choreographed push hands strait single and double, vertical single and double, and figure 8. although choreographed we still battle a little. For instance if you miss a transition or your timing is off you are going to get pushed across the room or thrown on the floor.

however we do a little free style as we progress.

Last edited: Apr 14, 2010
  6. AndrewTheAndroid

Can I ask why you are doing the choreographed push hands? I am not a big fan of it.

7. AmericanFighter