shoebox's Training Log

Discussion in 'Training Logs' started by shoebox, Jan 27, 2016.

1. shoebox

shoebox Valued Member

Hello all,

I suppose I should start by writing a little bit about myself and my history with the Martial Arts. Some of the details are a little hazy. Not sure if that is because I am getting older or one too many crash bangs to the ol' noggin.

Growing up I studied Goju-Ryu karate from around the age of 7 until 17. Over the course of those ten years, I achieved the grade of 5th kyu (purple belt). I believe that there was an age barrier to grading any higher than this. Eventually, the dojo relocated to Toronto and I subsequently took a break from the martial arts.

Six years or so, I trained in Genbukan Ninjitsu (9th kyu) but then the opportunity to volunteer in Brasil arose. Other than a few informal lessons in Capoeira, my martial arts training had once again ground to a halt.

Fast forward to present, and I am now a married, 30 year-old, shift worker, who is a proud Dad of two girls. This year, my eldest daughter turns five and I wanted her to enjoy the same experience as I from learning a martial art. Fortunately, very close to our home is an excellent judo kai.

The hunt for a good environment for her has inspired me to begin training in martial arts again as well. I have begun training in Ninjutsu as well as a trial membership at another martial arts school.

Here I will attempt to keep track of what techniques I have learnt, how I feel, and anything I can improve upon.

Last edited by a moderator: Feb 25, 2016
  2. Knee Rider

Knee Rider Valued Member Supporter

Look forward to reading your log :)

How are you finding the Genbukan training?

Ps- your second link doesn't seem to be working.

3. shoebox

shoebox Valued Member

January 26 No Gi Brazilian Jiu Jitsu

Wow. I am out of shape. Started off with a bit of cardio and afterwards I was already dying. Since the birth of my kids I have not been to the gym on the regular and it shows.