Shinai for WMA???

Discussion in 'Western Martial Arts' started by Cudgel, Sep 23, 2004.

1. Cudgel

Cudgel The name says it all

Ive been doing SCA styled shinai fighting for almsot 5 years, and in that period of time Ive grwon les tan fond of some of the pecularites of shinai.
    Such as the cylindrical shape, the lightnes, and the different balance.

I was all for ditching my shinai and taking up singlestick, but I was persuing swordforum.com and found that a few WMAist some who are rather respected, from what Ive gathered, use shinai for everything from fiore, single stick and I.33.
    Ive also found that shinai are inapropiate for any twoahnded styles, such as the Itallaien or German styles, the proportions are off, and that to alter the proportions of a shinai would not really help any.
    Those who use shinai cut down for backsword, I.33 and as singlesticks say the shinia are wonderful, as one Swordforumite said, "A singlestick the same weight as a shinai is a lethal instrument. A singlestick light enough to be safe is so light as to handle quite unlike a real sword. The shinai are heavier than singlesticks and are designed to allow you to hit harder while doing no damage. Even very light singlesticks hit harder than shinai double the weight. "
    And naturally any and all PRODUCTIVE comments are weclome and in fact desired.

And on a similar note Ive decided to try my hand at making schiavona styled basket hilts for shinai. I might even try making some mortuary hilts as well:D

2. Rob Lovett

Rob Lovett Valued Member

Hi there,

Cudgel personally I find that the shinai are too light and too far removed from the weapon they intend to simulate to be muchh good,. other people obviously have had different mileage, and more strength to them I say, however, this is a particular tool that I do not intend to employ in my training.