Questions from an instructor

Discussion in 'Disabled Martial Artists' started by Kacey, Jan 15, 2006.

1. Kacey

Kacey New Member

Let me start by saying that helping disabled students learn TKD (the art I practice) is a favorite topic of mine - in fact, I wrote my IV Dan thesis on some of the modifications I have made for various of my students. When I saw this topic area, I thought it would be a good place for me to ask about additional ways to help my students be successful.

A little background: I am a special education teacher; I teach math in a middle school, to students who perform badly on standardized math assessments, some of whom are identified as special education and some of whom are not (right now it's about half and half). Before I finished my teacher's certification program, I worked as a teacher's aide in a program for students with severe needs (some cognitive, some physical, some emotional, some a combination of two or all three). I also worked for a physical therapist in high school.

I have a couple of students who have special needs in my TKD class, and, while they seem to be happy with what they are learning (in smaller pieces, and modified to their physical and mental abilities) I am always looking for ways to maximize their experiences in my class.