On Tittles, The Kris as weapon and understanding!

Discussion in 'Silat' started by Silat Ger, Oct 9, 2005.

1. Silat Ger

Silat Ger New Member

Hello,
    My name is Ger Giesen and I like to comment on several letters I read the last few weeks. I wanted to write about this earlier but my computer got infected so I’m a little late.
    The message of my letter is : please be al little bit more like brothers and not like enemies.
    I’m not in the habit of writing to forums and wouldn’t have done it if it was not for giving some more understanding to some mistakes I read.
    First of all have to say I’m a student of Pendekar Sanders and proud of it. Although I’m a Pendekar Taruna in S.M.I. Pencak Silat and a guru in Kuda Kuningan Pencak silat I stopped doing this altogether in favor of Pukulan cimande Pusaka. This also brings me to my first topic: that of Grades.

There are a lot of different Silat styles in existence, no one is doubting that. So it is easy to understand there are a lot of different grading systems too. To be unfamiliar with one system does not mean that it is invalid, nor does it give excuse to put doubts in other ones minds about the rightfulness of using a grade or name.
    In SMI silat there are only nine grades: Pratama taruna, Pratama madya, Pratama utama, Satria taruna, Satria madya, Satria utama and Pendekar taruna, Pendekar madya and Pendekar Utama. No guru whatsoever. Does this mean the title does not exist? Off course not.
    In Setia Hati Terate these are the grades: Calon, Murid muda, Murid regu muda, Regu madya, Wakil kepala regu, Kepala regu, Calon pelath, assisten pelatih, Pelatih muda, Pelatih madya, Kepala pelatih, Guru (pelatih) muda, Guru (pelatih), Kepala guru, Maha guru muda, and Maha guru. No Pendekar whatsoever. Does this mean the title does not exist? Off course not!