Martial Art for an Old Fart

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by WunHungLo, Jan 28, 2007.

1. WunHungLo

WunHungLo New Member

I'm getting up there in years myself, aren't we all, if some are not already.

Anyhow, I was wondering what would be a good MA that you can still practice in your advanced years, a style that would still be viable for self defense, one that doesn't require physical strength or flexibility?

2. pauli

pauli mr guillotine

[​IMG]
    zhoo zhitsoo.

3. Pacificshore

Pacificshore Hit n RUN!

How about FMA? My buddy always says..."one day I won't be able to kick and punch, but I can still swing a stick" ;)

4. WunHungLo

WunHungLo New Member

Puali and Pacificshore, thank you.

I'm seriously looking at zhoo zhitsoo, and I have some experience with Modern Arnis. I suppose when I become feeble I can carry a cane with me and not look out of place :)

5. Mei Hua

Mei Hua Banned Banned

Bagua, you get the benefits of IMA practice but it is also effective for self defense.

6. NaughtyKnight

NaughtyKnight Has yellow fever!

Age isnt an excuse.

The Spartans fought until they were like 50+, hell they werent even real soldiers till they were 40 odd.

Any style will cater to you, you dont have to go balls to the wall and compete full contact if you dont want to.

7. narcsarge

narcsarge Masticated Whey

Well I am 5 years from Spartan material but yeah, I make the 40 "odd"! Of course, competing at this age is quite fun! Nothing like a test to see how you are progressing. :D

8. NaughtyKnight

NaughtyKnight Has yellow fever!

They stopped fighting at the 50-60 mark, fighting in wars that is. They trained till they died. ;)

9. narcsarge

narcsarge Masticated Whey

I'm with them on that one! Nothing like turning a few younger birds' heads! LOL

10. shootodog

shootodog restless native

hahaha...so true. tatang was still whipping boys three time younger his age group before he died. he even killed a mugger a year or two before he died.