Lots of questions !

Discussion in 'Boxing' started by NewbieBoxer, Apr 28, 2004.

1. NewbieBoxer

NewbieBoxer New Member

Hi , i recently bought a 40 pound heavy bag(Everlast) made of leather and i started training on it with a very thin glove, ive seen some clips of boxers and had some advice through the internet, anyone can tell me any tips on how to pack more power into the punch ? the stances that you need to have ? what's a great way to build up more muscles in the arm ? Do you always aim for the chin in a boxing match ? How do i use the heavy bag most effectively... thanks for your answers !!! Also , how do you do a straight cross from the right hand(my lead hand) ? i always end up with my fist hitting the bag halfway through , makeing my elbows sort of a "L" shape and it hurts my wrist whenever i do that.

Last edited: Apr 28, 2004
  2. YODA

YODA The Woofing Admin Supporter

Where are you based? You'd learn more in 1 hour down at your local boxing gym than we can tell you by text in a year!

3. THEGREAT1

THEGREAT1 New Member

i'm not a boxer so i'll only answer one or 2 of those:p

no u don't always aim for the chin in a match

build muscle in the arm by doing weight training ...as a boxer you'll want to do explosive power weight training....

and i don't think you cross with a lead hand ...u jab,hook,uppercut with it... but i could be wrong there

4. THEGREAT1

THEGREAT1 New Member

and clearly yoda is correct, they can demonstrate and give supervised practice

5. semphoon

semphoon walk idiot, walk.

YODA is correct.

There is a great thread on boxing tip on MAP.

To answear a few of your questions-

Dont worry about getting big muscular arms- punches in boxing use the entire body as opposed to "arm punching".
    One way to train for punching power is plyometric pushups (ie try fitting a clap in on the way up)