[Korea] Learn Korean

Discussion in 'Off Topic Area' started by Coges, Oct 18, 2004.

1. Coges

Coges Valued Member

Can anybody recommend any worthwhile sites to visit where I can learn korean via the net? I have tried Pimsleur before when I started learning Mandarin but to buy the stuff is just way too expensive.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

2. Kwajman

Kwajman Penguin in paradise....

Romulus, I'm looking also. If I find something I'll pass it along, please do the same if you would. :)

3. Hapkidoin P

Hapkidoin P Valued Member

2nd languages

Hi,

Personally,I would go to the nearest Bookseller,i.e. Barnes and Noble,Borders,and spend the 10-25$ for a cd language course. It may be handier,since you will always have it with you. Most include Textbooks and English to whatever dictionaries,so it's really not that bad of a deal.

I personally bought the Japanese edition,and have found it easier than anything else. The only drawback is it's "conversational". There are such things as "Master" courses available,but they run anywhere from 80-125$US.

The biggest thing is to find people and places to practice what you have learned. There is a world of difference between learning and doing. :) Hope this helped.

4. dngrruss

dngrruss Valued Member

I tried to learn conversational Korean. I simply did not have the time or the patience for such an evdeavor. I have not found any "learn quick" systems and would also be interested in any information you guys find.

5. nj_howard

nj_howard Valued Member

hi, i think this is pretty good advice.

i bought a book / cassette tape combination a couple of years ago called colloquial korean, by in-seok kim. you can find it on amazon, i think if you get the tapes as well as the book it runs about US$40.