Knee swelling

Discussion in 'Injuries and Prevention' started by the om, Jul 29, 2012.

1. the om

the om Valued Member

Hey

So, a few years ago I tore my meniscus in my left knee. I went to physio for it, completed the regiment, and haven't had any problems with it since. At least, not until a few weeks ago.
    Basically, it's just getting really stiff and more and more swollen. No pain from the joint itself, just some discomfort from the swelling.
    I was wondering if anyone had any recommendations for bringing the swelling down?
    I've been using Tiger Balm, an Arnica rub, and icing it quite a bit, not to mention resting it (I'm a musician and on vacation right now. I don't get out much. hahaha).
    At this point I can still function with it (and even forget it when I go to training), but it really bugs me when I get out of bed in the morning and when I go to sit down in a chair. I suppose I'm just getting old now, huh? :D
    I'd appreciate any advice you guys have to give

2. Simon

Simon Administrator Admin Supporter MAP 2017 Koyo Award

If you are on holiday then something like an ibuprofen gel may help.

Once you get back you need to see the physio; just for an expert opinion.

3. vippy

vippy Valued Member

Just going through this at the moment, tried everything I could, RICE, Ibuprofen gel eased the pain but could not get the swelling to go away, doc was hopeless and so was the physio and it was only when I mentioned I had medical insurance did I get anywhere

I have torn cartilage in both knees, the right was the worst and most swollen so had a small op to trim the damage away.

Going to Belgium training in a fortnight so will leave my left knee until I get back

One thing I have found that is really helping me to recover is cycling as it is taking the joint through a full range of movement without impact and I have found that the day after it feels much easier.

Good luck with it, I know what a PITA it is

4. the om

the om Valued Member