Is Wudang “not very good”

Discussion in 'Internal Martial Arts' started by Maui Taoist, Dec 26, 2011.

1. Maui Taoist

Maui Taoist New Member

Hi all,
    So I was talking to Bruce Frantzis at a party the other night about Wudang arts, and he said “Wudang is not very good” “Invented by the government” etc. and that “Everyone in the Chinese medial arts community that he knows says that is the truth” and since he goes to China “all the time” and speaks Chinese he should know.

I am a student of the Dong Taijiquan Lineage but I love all neijiaquan especially the Wudang arts and I have gained much by incorporating them into my practice.
    I just wondered what you guys thought about this topic?

Cory
    Taiji on Maui. com

Last edited by a moderator: Dec 26, 2011
  2. Southpaw535

Southpaw535 Well-Known Member Moderator Supporter

Think I'm impressed that got round the filter. Kudos.

3. Simon

Simon Administrator Admin Supporter MAP 2017 Koyo Award

I think you should edit your post to cut out the bad language, introduce yourself properly and read the TOS.

4. Frodocious

Frodocious She who MUST be obeyed! Moderator Supporter

It might have got through the filter, but then it had to face me! :yeleyes:

5. Southpaw535

Southpaw535 Well-Known Member Moderator Supporter

Random, but you just reminded me of an old IT teacher who had a wooden metre stick called "Oblivion"

6. Dan Bian

Dan Bian Neither Dan, nor Brian

Hi Maui Taoist,
    I daresay that Bruce is refering to the modern temple complex (complete with spa and hotel) at Wudang.
    The methods taught at this complex are modern, performance-based Wushu arts as opposed to the traditional boxing and meditational arts (supposedly) taught at Wudang.

James

7. Maui Taoist

Maui Taoist New Member

Opps thanks for the "filter"