Is Taekwondo really street effective?

Discussion in 'Tae Kwon Do' started by Anarch, Mar 24, 2012.

1. Anarch

Anarch Valued Member

I took it when I was about 9 and when I was about 11, I think. About 2 years ago I started training in Muay Thai and would have to say I prefer Muay Thai over anything I've tried and I've been able to use it in the streets on a few occasions. Most effective part is the thai clinch and knees in general.

When I took Taekwondo it seemed to be for sport. I didn't see them emphasize too much on the whole 'self defense' aspect of martial arts and the things they were teaching (to all belts) didn't look like they'd be too useful.

Reason I'm asking is because I got kicked out of our local Kung Fu academy about 2 years ago because I started getting in trouble but now I'm really interested in starting martial arts back up but I want something that'll help me build my confidence back up and actually be useful on the streets as well. In my opinion it's much harder to land a successful kick in an all-out brawl considering the fact that most people tend to rush and when you factor in adrenaline, sometimes that'll prevent your kicks (imo)

In your TKD experiences, have you ever used any techniques on the street and if so, how well did it work?

Thanks in advance!

2. Simon

Simon Administrator Admin Supporter MAP 2017 Koyo Award

Welcome to MAP.

What is effective on the street is awareness, the abilty to talk yourself out of a situation should it arise, the knowledge that any martial skills you may have are to be used as a last resort and so on.

Effective self defence is a seperate skill away from your normal martial training.
    Muay Thai, TKD or any other arts are unlikely to teach you about the different types of aggressor you may come across, how to deal differently to each aggressor, your legal standpoint etc.