Hsing I ??

Discussion in 'Tai chi' started by nzric, Aug 8, 2003.

1. nzric

nzric on lookout for bad guys

I'd love to hear some tips from anyone studying Hsing I... I've been studying Yang style tai chi for about two years, and ba gua circle form for around six months. I'm interested in comparing the different internal styles and wanted to know some ideas about Hsing I.

Anyone know some basic solo drills so I can learn the fundamentals of Hsing I? It would be good if you could give me a few tips and maybe relate them to the movements/principles of TJQ and BGZ.

Cheers.

2. WhiteWizard

WhiteWizard Arctic Assasain

From what i know which is very little Hsing i or xing yi involves generating power through straight lines its a very linear art different to bag ua lot of explosive power as i said i don't know much about it but thats what i do know

3. SoKKlab

SoKKlab The Cwtch of Death!

Basically there are three Styles or systems of Hsing-I that developed within Hopei province. Conservative, Natural and Synthetic.

Hsing-I manifests itself in Five elements or forms (Wu-Hsing).
    Those being:
    Splitting (p'i ch'uan)-The rise and fall of a chopping axe
    Crushing (peng ch'uan)-Simultaneous expansion and contraction
    Drilling (ts'uan ch'uan)-Flow in curves
    Pounding (p'ao ch'uan)-Suddenly projectile like striking
    Crossing (heng ch'uan)-Forward strikes with rounded energy

Then there are the twelve Animal parts of Hsing-I.

The basic feel is the same as Bagua, in that you use Rise, Fall, Drill, Overturn. Solid footwork is stressed and it is largely linear, the body is relaxed until the final instant.

Once you have learnt the Five elements of Hsing-I, you do those as a solo drill.

There are now some half-decent books on Hsing-I, which will be able to give you a good overview of training tactics and form, drills, including specific drills for developing the major league speed and power that Hsing-I is famous for.