Hello, it's me!

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by Tai-Do, Jun 29, 2013.

1. Tai-Do

Tai-Do Valued Member

Hello;
    I've been studying MA for for about 15 years (I'm about 30 now); it started when I wanted to learn self-defence. Because I didn't have any money and there were only a few schools nearby, I went to the free lessons I could, then dedicated time to learning which style to learn. Cut to a few years later and there was a big difference, all from books, self made training equipment and learning from whoever would teach me whatever.
    A few years ago I was diagnosed with a rare type of Autistic spectrum disorder/learning difficulties; but there was a master on the end of that fist, and she treated me well. I was also told I had a sillilly high IQ (all those books didn't go to waste) so I went from being an idiot to very clever over night (I'm only just now getting used to the idea)
    So to cut a long story in half with a big 'Ai-ia!' I now study Aikido and Taiji Dim-mak as my two main styles, all under the umbrella made by JKD; with anatomy and neuroscience thrown in. Bruce was the man!
    I'm especially interested in rare and disabled martial arts (I now specialize in finding the way for the disabled practitioner)

Some of you might like my youtube channel (I hope it's ok to post a link here) where I mainly show my other top interest, primitive living skills (mainly stone-age) http://www.youtube.com/user/wanderinggibbon

"Everybody wants to be Bruce Lee, except me, I want to be Ray Mears!"

2. philosoraptor

philosoraptor carnivore in a top hat Supporter

Hi, welcome to MAP. I can sympathize with you on the autism front. It can make life very difficult. Are you currently training under someone, or still pursuing martial arts on your own?

3. Dean Winchester

Dean Winchester Valued Member

Welcome to MAP and thanks for sharing.

Which type of ASD do you have?

You said it was rare?

4. Tai-Do

Tai-Do Valued Member