Headstand to ginga.

Discussion in 'Other Styles' started by Bozza Bostik, Jun 28, 2013.

1. Bozza Bostik

Bozza Bostik Antichrist on Button Moon

I got this video from youtube and am practicing the stuff.

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Oxy02WDKKuc"]Bananeira com Cabeça no chão[/ame]

I am kinda focusing on coming down from the inverted position to a ginga. I can come down quite controlled now (remember I am relatively new to capoeira). However, when I am in ginga I am side on to where my opponent would be.

How do I get face on? Is it just a case of swinging my (what would be) rear leg around more?

Edit: And tomorrow I am doing these ;)

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lbFCIKkAQDI"]capoeira floreios e acro.wmv - YouTube[/ame]

Last edited: Jun 28, 2013
  2. Anwolf

Anwolf Valued Member

Doesn't doing a headstand on concrete hurt your head...?

3. HarryF

HarryF Malued Vember

Damn, I forgot how beautiful capoeira can look... I'm going to have to find a class near me now!

Hmm, it's hard to answer your question without seeing you in action (ooo err missus), and probably the best solution is to ask your mestre or others in the class to watch you and give tips.

For me, I found the progression from cartwheel into ginga, then slooooow cartwheel into ginga, then headstand, then handstand a useful way of "getting it".

See on the video how the guy brings his lead (right) leg slightly in front and allows space for his rear legs to swing back a bit? Whether it will leave you facing your partner depends on where they are too :p

4. dormindo

dormindo Active Member Supporter

Boris, there are several ways you could do it (using the video you posted as reference):

You could come down from the headstand to the side, as in the video, while kicking the second (left) leg to the back to end up in ginga facing front.