Grading/Teaching Dilemma

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by Hapuka, Mar 10, 2016.

1. Hapuka

Hapuka Te Aho

So I've found myself in a situation where I have people in my Mau Rakau group that are not interested in grading. They are however interested in me grading and teaching them the next level of the curriculum (Tu Taua) that I am studying. Its a bit frustrating because me and my sister have put in the effort to travel 2 hours each week to another tutor who is teaching us from where our last tutor abruptly ended teaching us (he left due to personal circumstances). Me and my sister along with the help of a couple of other members have kept our current group going. I am keen in the future to open a public Tu Taua group with my sister, in my area once I have achieved the proper ranking and have the blessing of the other tutors. My current tutor is happy with my progress and is fine with me passing on the knowledge that shes sharing with me.

Me and my sister don't work the same hours that the other club members do, so due to work commitments they are unable to attend the classes that the other tutor is holding.

I'm not sure what to do, should I grade and teach the next level as I'm learning it or just tell them to go grade themselves? (they are in my opinion ready to grade to the next level) Would it be irresponsible to teach them the next level of the curriculum as I'm learning it?

I have about 6 years collectively of prior martial arts training under my belt (Boxing, Muay Thai, ITF Taekwon-do) so I am confident with striking fundamentals.

2. Pretty In Pink

Pretty In Pink Moved on MAP 2017 Gold Award

Just tell them that the truth, you aren't ranked high enough. They are free to seek a higher ranking person and still train with you.

3. Hapuka

Hapuka Te Aho