Doboks or no Doboks in hot weather or physically demanding lessons?? lets debate.

Discussion in 'Tae Kwon Do' started by TheMadhoose, Jul 19, 2013.

1. TheMadhoose

TheMadhoose Carpe Jugulum

My opinion is;

That t's our dobok that gives us our identity and is designed to instil pride in the practice if Taekwon-Do whilst worn. Maybe it's just me being petty, but it really gets under my skin the amount of people who think the dobok is a hindrance to their training.

2. Grass hopper

Grass hopper Valued Member

I've never worn a dubok, but I can relate with my gi. I didn't used to wear my gi top on hot summer days but I do now. Now that I have a nicer thick one it breathes better, and as an instructor I feel it's important to look the part.

3. Infesticon #1

Infesticon #1 Majesticon

I'm of the opinion that some traditions should not be followed because they are (imo) stupid.

At my new class they train in a T-shirt with the dobok trousers on. I just wear shorts and a T-shirt (Haven't got my training gear yet)

4. Mitch

Mitch Lord Mitch of MAP Admin

Dobok. It's important.

It's not as if any doboks are heavyweight these days anyway, and if students are spending time worrying about their clothing the classes aren't hard enough.

Sweat is the sign of a good lesson, not poor clothing.

Mitch

5. TheMadhoose

TheMadhoose Carpe Jugulum

If you begin in taekwon-Do you are in most cases these days supplied with a free dobok and belt. If that is the uniform then accept it and adapt to exercising in it. in 25 years ive never not wanted to wear my dobok in training. im interested to find out why this has become abnormal

6. Mitch

The only change I've made to the standard dobok is to introduce a club dobok which is 16oz and allows us to use limited grappling in dojang sparring for those interested.

Nobody has to buy one and I sell each one, delivered and embroidered at waaaay below RRP because I want people to be able to enjoy the option if they wish.