Complete Idiot's Guide to Tai Chi

Discussion in 'Tai chi' started by khafra, Nov 24, 2003.

1. khafra

khafra New Member

Book review, anyone? The book series has a surprisingly good rep, given the titles, and I do definitely fit the readership criteria. Reviews at Amazon.com were mixed, what do you, here, think?
    If there are comparisons, by the way, please make them to other books/videos, we all know learning from a teacher is best.

2. Syd

Syd 1/2 Dan in Origami

I haven't seen this particular Dummies Guide, but generally they are pretty good for the absolute beginner. Personally though I think you'd be better off with something by Yang Jwing Ming for a more detailed discussion and introduction to Taijiquan. I won't site a specific work but you can definately do better than a dummies guide if you plan to get serious at any stage.

Best, Syd

3. imawimp

imawimp New Member

I own this particualr dummies book. Its a nice intro and I find the chi kung stuff useful.

In the long run a book more specific to your style may be more useful, but it s a decent book.

I also own a couple of Yangs books, very useful and they can be quite specific.

4. nzric

nzric on lookout for bad guys

A complete idiots guide to starting tai chi:

1. stand on one leg for a long time
    2. keep standing on one leg
    3. feel your dantien. If you need help feeling your dantien, ask an old man who is lurking around a park in the morning to find it for you
    4. wave your arms around until you feel a tingling sensation
    5. try to ignore the flies that are landing on your face - they are a test of your fortitude
    6. invent five vaguely asian-sounding 3-syllable words that you can say are a. ancient chinese regional styles, b. the names of early students of the old internal masters, or c. a secret tai chi move. Don't worry - everyone will be so impressed by the names that they'll believe you.