[Choi Kwang Do] Jamming.

Discussion in 'Other Styles' started by morphus, Feb 6, 2004.

1. morphus

morphus Doobrey

I have been interested in this concept for a while now. I'm not experienced in it as we don't practice it within CKD but i am trying to form my own version of it to use within my personal art/way which obviously i will mix with CKD. The type i'm basing my version on is wing chun/JKD type of Jamming, however thats only from reading books & DVD's. Anyone ever trained using it?

2. amiller127

amiller127 Chief Instructor

Yup. Had a few lessons practicing a little jaming every now and then. Not sure what kind of art the jammig was from though.

3. LilBunnyRabbit

LilBunnyRabbit Old One

What exactly do you mean by jamming? The only types I can think of are musical, or detection-related. Are you talking about intercepting techniques, or something else entirely?

4. amiller127

Jamming. The way I was taught it is a last minute way of taking an impact. You dont block but use a limb to absorb the impact. Then you counter.

5. LilBunnyRabbit

LilBunnyRabbit Old One

Ow, pain bad. On the other hand its better than getting hit. But then again, better to block and open up an opportunity than 'jam'. Just my own opinion.

6. amiller127

Couldnt agree with you more. The way ive been explained it is that it is a last minute thing.. Just like when you block off of the front arm, you keep the rear arm in a guard position. Its there to absorb an impact if you block to quick or if someone uses a double punch.

Last edited: Feb 10, 2004
  7. morphus

morphus Doobrey