Blister prevention on feet?

Discussion in 'Injuries and Prevention' started by fishnaked, Mar 19, 2012.

1. fishnaked

fishnaked New Member

I have a 3 day intensive training coming up and need to figure out a way to prevent blisters. The big toe side of the ball of my feet seem to be the problem area for me. I've been getting hotspots there after only 3 hours of practice. I have wrapped my feet with athletic tape but it seems to ball up rather quickly requiring that I remove it completely or rewrap. Granted, I have very little experience with using tape.

Has anyone tried mole skin...the stuff that comes in patches that you cut to size? I was thinking that one large patch covering the entire balls of my feet might not only prevent blisters but also create some slipperiness in turns taking some torque off from a sore knee.

Any other ideas for blister prevention?

Thanks.

2. Pretty In Pink

Pretty In Pink Moved on MAP 2017 Gold Award

You can get anti-blister socks at your local sports shop.

3. 47MartialMan

47MartialMan Valued Member

Try a lubricant.

4. fishnaked

fishnaked New Member

Thanks, you two! I'm almost certain socks are not allowed though. I assume the lubricant would have to be used in conjunction with socks/shoes too, correct?

5. 47MartialMan

I would think to use it before and after practice...as well as after taking a shower

6. fishnaked

fishnaked New Member

Thank you. Just so I understand, you don't use the lubricant with shoes or socks? If that is the case, doesn't the lubricant wear off quickly? Is this a specific blister prevention lubricant?

7. finite monkey

finite monkey Thought Criminal

I dont know about prevention apart from conditioning

To treat blisters I can share with you a drastc, but effective remedy.

You will need:
    Syringe and needle
    Tinc benz Co

First draw out juice from blister
    inject Tinc benz Co

Scream very loudly for 20 seconds

Go about your buisness, blister free