Back to martial arts, after a long break... But it's not taekwondo!

Discussion in 'Tae Kwon Do' started by Smokemare, Mar 23, 2022.

1. Smokemare

Smokemare ITF TKD 2nd Dan

Well, it's been years since I hung my black belt up, didn't think I'd be pulling it down off its hook again, ever. I reckon it must have been at least 12 years since I was in the dojang. I think my daughter was 2 when I had to give it up because 'life' was getting in the way.

The thing is though, it'd be quite weird going back to taekwondo all old, stiff and creaky and barely able to remember the colour belt patterns let alone the black belt ones. Kids who were white belts when I left are 4th Dan black belts running clubs now. It occurred to me that It'd be as awkward for them as it would be for me. So, despite getting the martial arts itch again. I haven't returned to taekwondo. What am I doing instead? Kendo. I've been doing it for a few months now and I'm thoroughly enjoying it. The framework is familiar, but you don't do many gradings at Kendo. At our dojo you only do one grade before the equivalent of 1st Dan which is called Shodan. It's quite a ritualistic art, with etiquette and appearance being seen as at least as important as technique. There aren't the myriad of techniques arts like taekwondo and karate have, but the quality techniques is more emphasized? To score a point, or 'make Ippon' requires you to synchronise your footwork, your cut and your kyai to 'show intent'. A cut only counts if you look like you mean it. It's a very shouty martial art, I think shoutier than my old taekwondo clubs were. It's also very niche. When every member of the club is training there is about eight of us I think? Maybe nine or ten at most? It's an expensive martial art to buy into too. The weapons are relatively cheap and the uniform isn't too bad. I bought a 'Kendo starter set' from a company called nine circles, which gave you a Kendogi (training jacket), Hakama, (The special trousers) A shinai (b