assessing if u r a true M.ARTIST

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by strider, Mar 28, 2007.

1. strider

strider Valued Member

well who consider himself a true martial artist,who is full committed to the game,who has the asked descepline,composure,consistencies,calmness.
    And what have you achieved?

2. Moosey

Moosey invariably, a moose Supporter

I consider myself an individual who happens to foster an interest in the martial arts.

I suppose I'm a "martial artist" to the same extent that I'm a "guitarist" - I can play the guitar, but I'm no Jimi Hendrix. If you consider that a "guitarist" then I'm a martial artist by the same criterion.

3. ap Oweyn

ap Oweyn Ret. Supporter

Strider, please stop using the text speak. If you can't be bothered to spell out "you", people are not going to look on your posts kindly. I have a headache just from reading your question.

And no I don't consider myself a martial artist. I'm just a guy who practices martial arts. I find the whole "way of life" argument kinda pretentious. Yes, it's made an indellible mark on my life. But I don't feel any great need to be "a man apart" about it. I'm just a guy.

Stuart

4. Standard MAP Response:

I'm a truly mad Martial Artist! I love MA. I love MA. I think about it ALL the time. Even when I'm at school/work/college I'm like, doing stomach exercises in horse stance.

MA has taken entirely over my life.
    Sometimes I train for a whole hour at a time.

I am only 2 years away from my blackbelt!

5. Llamageddon

Llamageddon MAP's weird cousin Supporter

I disarmed a Samurai in full armour once in Oxford high street. He tried to get it back so I had to break his neck.

Does that count?

;)

6. Sam

Sam Absent-ish member

Sometimes I'd love to push you off a cliff. :Angel:

Anyway to answer the question, I can never say its anything I've put any thought into.