Anyone from Manila?

Discussion in 'Filipino Martial Arts' started by juramentado, May 18, 2003.

1. juramentado

juramentado lean, mean eating machine

Sino dito taga Metro Manila?

:)

2. Andy Murray

Andy Murray Sadly passed away. Rest In Peace.

Good to have you here juramentado, welcome to Martial Arts Planet.

I don't think we have any members based in the Phillipines, but we do have many Eskrima fans here.

Look forward to your input.

3. juramentado

Thanks for the welcome :)

4. YODA

YODA The Woofing Admin Supporter

Welcome again to MAP :D

I see from your profile that you train in Pekiti Tirsia? How long have you been training and with whom?

5. juramentado

I've only started fairly recently, studying under Guro Rommel Tortal, the edged weapons instructor of the Phil. Marines.

Previous to that, I studied a hybrid style of arnis but not for very long.

My previous martial arts background is aikido, which I studied for about 10 years.

and just like you, I also do web design (but back in advertising, for now anyway).

What style of FMA do your practice?

Last edited: May 18, 2003
  6. YODA

Sounds good - I've heard lots of good things about your Guro.

I practice three main types of Filipino Martial Arts - so what I teach is pretty much elements of each to a certain degree - with a good sprinkling of "truisms" that I've discovered along the way over the 20 years or so that I've been into FMA. These 3 main systems are...

Doce Pares Eskrima - I have a 4th Grade Black Belt from GM Danny Guba and 2nd Grade Black Belt from GM Cacoy Canete.

Inosanto/LaCoste Kali - I am an Associate Instructor under Guro Marc McFann of the Inosanto lineage.

Dog Brothers Martial Arts - I am in the early stages of learning from Guro Marc "Crafty Dog" Denny - and way off being qualified to teach the system - although I must say that it has been a major influence on my FMA in general for many years - it's only recently however that I've started to train it formally.