your thoughts on my new 'free day?'

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by seiken steve, Feb 7, 2013.

1. seiken steve

seiken steve golden member

So those that follow my log will be aware I am running a dan john esque one lift a day program using 3 week cycles.

Mon: bench and met con
    Tue: squat and coaching
    Wed: pull up and med con if I feel up to it
    Thurs front squat, again optional met con
    Fri: strict press and some vanity arm work (I’m young okay!)
    Sat: deadlift (extra shrugs)
    Sunday: rest rest rest.

Week one is 7x5
    Week two is 6x3
    Week three is 1x5 1x3 1x2 (max double)
    Week four is a deload or rest.

Changes I’m making are:

Rep scheme;
    I’m focusing more on building my base than throwing around max doubles, as I’m not a pro lifter and have a lot on ergo;

Week one 5x8
    Week two 7x5
    Week three 6x3
    Week four off.

Also I see no need for a pull up day, its not a challenging day, I think pull ups benefit from hogher rep stuff as well as heavy stuff. So I’m subbing out pull up day and doing pull ups between every pressing rep. one day weighted and one day body weight. Grips will vary.

So I now have a free day to add in a lift. I’m torn between two movents, the incline press and the hang power clean. So I was interested on hearing your guys thoughts.

Pros of incline:
    Great carry over to strict press and bench.
    One of my ‘weak movements’ so obviously a weak link to work on
    Great muscle builder.
    I have a tiny upper chest.
    Another day I can do pull ups on.

Cons of incline
    I already bench and strict press
    I box wed night so that is worth considering.

Pro’s of HPC
    I want massive traps
    Explosive
    Upper back builder.

Cons of HPC
    I front squat the next day and my upper mid back can be a weak point in FS, HPC fatigue these muscles.
    I am not an oly lifter.
    I’m going struggle or not manage the pull ups that day.

Thoughts??

2. Frodocious