You will get past disabilities

Discussion in 'Disabled Martial Artists' started by ProfIkeBear, Oct 25, 2007.

1. ProfIkeBear

ProfIkeBear New Member

I am an instructor in St. Louis, MO and we train anyone who wants to train and has the right attitude. I work with special olympics, cancer survivors and paraplegics as well as blind kids. We don't focus on what you can't do, we help you develop what you can do. I have learned a tremendous amount myself since we've started this program.
    I got started working with people with physical disabilities in 1987 at a VA Hospital. I worked basic self-defense with paraplegics. Even seated I was not relating to their situation because I still had hip movement.I went back to the training hall and had my students fasten me into a chair duct taping my waist so I did not have any of this movement to rely on. I then had to rethink striking and grappling strategies and we developed some things that worked. A year later I also worked with Special Olypics and Missouri School for the Blind. It was more rewarding making a diference than all my other martial arts achievements put together.
    With the blind kids I usually work chi sao and other sensitivity and flow drills. I help them find pressure points from contacting the initial limb that is extended towards them.
    Best to you all.
    Ike Bear, Black Dragon Kung-fu

2. BentMonk

BentMonk Valued Member

Awesome

PIB - I'm glad to see another instructor offering people with disabilities real applicable training and techniques. I know what you mean when talking about self defense while seated. I have CP, but I am still on my feet, and as you said have much more movement to rely on. I also put myself in their position and went from there. I've tried to do the same with my other students and their situations as well. So far I am having some wonderful success. I wish you the best, and continued success.

3. ProfIkeBear

ProfIkeBear New Member

Martial Brother