Wrist pain after heavy bag session

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by Niklaus, Oct 29, 2019.

1. Niklaus

Niklaus New Member

I was doing some boxing on the heavy bag and now the back of my wrist hurts when i bend it and put pressure on it, for example in the push up position. Or when i do push ups. It's been like this for a few days. Help?

2. Dead_pool

Dead_pool Spes mea in nihil Deus MAP 2017 Moi Award

It sounds like your iniuring yourself by doing "bag work" are you wearing wraps and gloves? Are you hitting it too hard?

Are you new to using a heavy bag?

Grond and Niklaus like this.
  3. Niklaus

Niklaus New Member

I am new to using bags yes. I am wearing gloves but no wraps... Currently i stopped my training to prevent further injuries.. But it doesnt seem to be healing.

4. Dead_pool

1) wear wraps it will help prevent you iniuring yourself

2) soft tissue injuries take 4-8 weeks to heal, if you've fractured something it's 6 to 12 weeks.

So rest up, and do some stretching whilst your not doing anything else.

Monkey_Magic, Grond and axelb like this.
  5. Niklaus

Niklaus New Member

Thanks! Oh and can i keep lifting in the gym while it heals?

6. Xue Sheng

Xue Sheng All weight is underside

First your foot, now your wrist...that heavy bag is nasty

And I am always going to say consult a medical professional

Grond, Dead_pool and axelb like this.
  7. Niklaus

Niklaus New Member

It happend the same day actually
    My foot is now better. I didn't think the wrists were that serious but yeah i messed up real bad....

8. axelb

axelb Master of Office Chair Fu

If you lift as well, be cautious as to what lifts are bearing weight onto you wrists.
    Bench, dips and similar are advisable to go light on or find alternatives.

If you barbell squat, make sure you hand position doesn't take the load on your wrists (a common form mistake)

9. Dead_pool