Wrist/Forearm Strength

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by El Barto, May 28, 2006.

1. El Barto

El Barto Valued Member

Has anyone used the "Bruce Lee iron grip trainer" if so can you tell me what you think? I would also like to ask how important is wrist/forearm strength in martial arts? And if anyone uses specific exercises for these muscles? Please bear in mind I'm a beginner in martial arts :)

2. faster than you

faster than you Valued Member

for grappling having a powerful grip is extremly important. training grappling with a gi will give you a strong grip.

3. iamraisen

iamraisen Valued Member

forearm and grip strength are important, as is all strength. i have never used the bruce lee trainer, but have also never heard of it which makes me automatically suspicious!

buy a chin-up bar and start doing chin-ups and pull-ups. once you can do a decent amount start adding 2 second 'dead-hangs' at the bottom of the repetition before pulling back up. once you can do a decent amount of these make the bar thicker by wrapping a towel round it. all of these will work your grip and forearms.

do a google search for Captains of Crush. they are the best grip trainers i have ever encountered.

hope that helps

4. NewLearner

NewLearner Valued Member

Do heavy deadlifts and you will develop a killer grip.

5. El Barto

El Barto Valued Member

The "Bruce Lee iron grip trainer" is something that i seen reading "Bruce Lee the art of expressing the human body" if anyone out there has read it they will know what i'm talking about. I am lifting heavy in deadlifts and it's not as though I feel I'm weak in this area, it's just the book was suggesting that this a important area to concentrate on perhaps this was because was because of his background in wing chun?

6. iamraisen

iamraisen Valued Member