Women's self defence - falsehoods

Discussion in 'Women's Self Defence' started by mmafiter, Jun 23, 2002.

1. mmafiter

mmafiter New Member

I have seen some of these women's self defence seminars and classes that are taught in martial arts (I used to be an instructor in a women's defence program) and I sometimes just shake my head at the stuff they are teaching/telling these women to do.

First off I think you have to tell women that despite all the feminist rhetoric, they ARE generally the weaker sex, physically. Now, usually women get ****ed off, but if your going to try and defend yourself, the politically correct answer isn't going to cut it. Women are generally physically weaker, it's the truth so you might as well be honest and spend your time accordingly, not learning techniques that require you to overpower your opponent.

Keep it simple. I can't believe some of the flashy or unrealistic crap I see these guys trying to teach these women! Pressure points?!:rolleyes:

Get serious. When I used to teach a self defence class, one section was on groundwork and I would show a basic technique from guard. Many women would say "Ewww....I don't want to roll around on the ground with another woman." and giggle. To which I would reply "Where do you think your rapist is trying to get you? What is he trying to do to you? He's trying to pin you on the ground while he gets between your legs and violently enters your body!" It's the height of stupidity to think to yourself as you are being attacked "Man, I wish I wasn't so squeamish in those self defence classes." Grow up.