Wingchun vs Jeet kune do

Discussion in 'Jeet Kune Do' started by wingchunguy, May 31, 2008.

1. wingchunguy

wingchunguy New Member

Hi, I've been practicing wingchun for about 2 years now and would like to get into jeet kune do to add some more effective kicks, hooks ect, to my style. Have I already learnt the basics of jeet kune do or do I have to start all over again, does anyone know?

2. baqi9

baqi9 Valued Member

3. wingchunguy

wingchunguy New Member

Yeah ok thx, I'll look into it.

4. Gong_Sau_Rick

Gong_Sau_Rick ultimate WSL nutrider

Depends which Wing Chun Kune you learnt and which Jeet Kune Do you are looking at learning.

I would also recommend you check out Gary Lam's kicking DVD.

5. LightSky

LightSky Valued Member

You've probably learnt a lot about trapping range
    but kicking, punching and ground-fighting are ranges that jkd should be able to help with, as well as other forms of trapping.

Are you going to a JKD-concepts class, or Jun Fan Jeet Kune Do?

6. wingchunguy

wingchunguy New Member

Neither

Neither at the minuet just Wingchun.

7. LightSky

LightSky Valued Member

I meant which are you planning to go to. What's available in your area?
    They are quite different :p

8. Raven Wing

Raven Wing Valued Member

Why do people worry about "starting all over again"? Being at the bottom of a new class means you have a lot to learn - would you waste time with a teacher who didn't have much to show you? Just go and enjoy it, you sound like you have a sensible approach to martial arts and want to turn yourself into a well rounded fighter. As you already have some experience of learning one style maybe it will allow you to pick things up a bit more quickly but don't ever worry about having to go through lots of basics, we all do it and people who crosstrain have to do it more than most but it should all add up in the end.

9. windtalker

windtalker Pleased to return to MAP