Wing Chun punches

Discussion in 'Kung Fu' started by Gambit85, Jun 3, 2003.

1. Gambit85

Gambit85 New Member

Hey everybody, i am new to this message board so i wanted to say hello. I am trying to teach myself Wing Chun kung fu by reading and by practicing and sparring with a friend who knows some. Anyways i noticed that in Wing Chun some punches i saw were said to be struck with the bottom 3 knuckles. However i always learned from boxing and such to use the top 2 knuckles to avoid injury to the hand and in fact last year broke my wrist when i missed a punch and hit only with my bottom knuckle to a guys shoulder. Anyways if you all could help me understand this i want to say thanks in advance and hope to participate more on this board in the future.

2. YODA

YODA The Woofing Admin Supporter

Hi and welcome to MAP.

Where did you learn Boxing that taught you to always punch with the top 2 knuckles?

You need qualified instruction - learning from book swill give you something that "resembles" Wing Chun - that's about it - even if your friend "knows some".

3. Gambit85

Gambit85 New Member

I learned the top two knuckles thing from a personal trainer i used to lift weights with, but i'll trust what you say on punches as you sound like you definately know what you are talking about. Also from reading on these boards i realize that i really do need to get an instructor that i can learn from, preferably one on one if possible. But since i'll be leaving for college in the fall i was hoping to get one then in Madison, and simply teach myself some basics and work on balance and flexibility over summer.

So actually if you know any good stretching techniques or practices for improving balance i would greatly appreciate any advice or tips you can give.

4. Greg-VT

Greg-VT Peasant

Just stand on one foot when putting on shoes, or clothing, that should get your balance better.