why train in ninujtsu?

Discussion in 'Ninjutsu' started by MustangFa1con, May 28, 2003.

1. MustangFa1con

MustangFa1con New Member

Hi, I'm new to martial arts and have been researching different styles to choose from to start training. I've been looking into Shaolin Kenpo and Uechi Ryu Karate, which my grandfather taught, but I just found a school in Manchester, NH, US, that teaches Budo Taijutsu. First of all, is this a form of ninjutsu? because in their web site is says that the instructor is:

Steven Lefebvre
    Rokudan (6th degree black belt), in Budo Taijutsu/Ninjutsu
    Sandan (3rd degree black belt), in Sunyata Karate

The whole "taijutsu/ninjutsu" thing threw me off. And has anyone heard of or know anything about this instructor or his school in New Hampshire...or if anyone has any general informatino on this stlye and had an opinion whether this would be a good style to learn for someone trying to start out in martial arts to learn effective fighting skills/self defense, let me know, thanks.

2. Sweeet

Sweeet Valued Member

Taijutsu is really just a subcategory of ninjutsu - one of the 'ryus' within it. Taijutsu encompasses the empty-hands fighting aspect of ninjutsu, which is just a small part of the whole art.

Budo Taijutsu is just a 'subcategory' or another name for Togakure Ryu Ninjutsu. If your not sure about the authenticity - (which, if the training is good, shouldn't be a concern, IMO) - then ask your instructor if he has trained under Dr. Masaaki Hatsumi - if so, then you can be sure it's 'authentic'.