Why is stretching so painful? Isn't there a better way?

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by Sourav Ghosh, Oct 7, 2018.

1. Sourav Ghosh

Sourav Ghosh New Member

Yesterday before I started practicing, our teacher showed us a few moves to loosen our nerves. It's just too painful, do you guys have any good suggestions?

2. Simon

Simon Administrator Admin Supporter MAP 2017 Koyo Award

Could you add some detail please?

You should be warming up correctly before stretching. At the start of a class (after warm up) you should be dynamic stretching, so stretching with movement (such as leg swings).

If it's painful you either aren't warmed up correctly, or are overdoing it.

If you could give some info on the warm up and stretches we'll try and help.

Grond and Monkey_Magic like this.
  3. Sourav Ghosh

Sourav Ghosh New Member

We have a warm-up session for about 20/30 off minutes then we do stretching, I have no idea of the names it's called its in our local language.

4. Simon

Simon Administrator Admin Supporter MAP 2017 Koyo Award

My initial thoughts.

Grond, aaradia and axelb like this.
  5. Dead_pool

Dead_pool Spes mea in nihil Deus MAP 2017 Moi Award

But did you die? Are you injured?

No? Then it's not too painful!

Xue Sheng and Shmook like this.
  6. aaradia

aaradia Choy Li Fut and Yang Tai Chi Chuan Student Moderator Supporter

Last edited: Oct 7, 2018
    axelb and Monkey_Magic like this.
  7. aaradia

Mod note: I fixed the typo in the title. Hope OP does not mind. :)

8. Xue Sheng

Xue Sheng All weight is underside

Reminds me of a Xingyi Shifu I had who was talking about Santi Shi who said; "While standing, if you have joint pain, tell me and I will adjust your stance. If it is muscle pain, I don't want to hear about it, just shut up and stand"

axelb likes this.
  9. Grond

Grond Valued Member