Why did you start training in Taekwondo?

Discussion in 'Tae Kwon Do' started by kmorrisonnyc, Nov 16, 2014.

1. kmorrisonnyc

kmorrisonnyc Valued Member

Note: I did a quick search but didn't see it in the results, feel free to merge if I missed it.

I was talking with another student at class recently and we got round to why I started training in Taekwondo - and then why I stopped and re-started and it got me thinking about the many reasons people train.

In my case I'd always been a fan of Bruce Lee but my dad didn't want me training until I was old enough to understand the consequences of what I was learning. He'd teach me in the garage from about 7 years old but my first class wasn't until I was 1 month shy of my 12th birthday. I mainly wanted was intrigued by the martial arts and by that time I'd started to go through a rough time at school (bullying) so was just the perfect timing for me. My dad had trained at the local Taekwondo school in the past so that's why we chose Taekwondo versus Shotokan or Judo.

As to why I stopped and started, stopping was driven by injury, relocation (Scotland>Zakynthos>Thessaloniki>New York > London > Santa Monica > Palm Springs) and pure laziness. Started again because a) I missed it and b) I now have a family and weight was spiraling out of control along with my ability to protect them.

Interested to hear your stories.

Thanks!

2. Simon

Simon Administrator Admin Supporter MAP 2017 Koyo Award

I too started because of Bruce Lee and at 16 years old my mate Vince and I found a local TKD school.

A male Korean instructor and his British wife. Damn good they were too.

I only did a couple of months because I found Kung Fu suited me better.

My lasting memory is a rather large blue belt sparring the female instructor.
    He was getting more and more aggressive and jumped up in the air and I was sure he was going to come down with an elbow on her head.

She leant back on her rear leg and delivered a side kick to his chest.