Who here practices xing yi?

Discussion in 'Internal Martial Arts' started by shaolin_al, Mar 26, 2011.

1. shaolin_al

shaolin_al Valued Member

Hello I am a noob to the xing yi quan world and was wondering who else here does xing yi for how long and what style of it do u study?

2. cloudz

cloudz Valued Member

I only do a few pieces from a system of Xingyi. A little Pi chuan, Dragon and some neigung. 4-5yrs maybe, It's Hebei.. I've practiced the other wu xing in the past to a level I was fairly happy with, except for Heng. Though I have done a neigong for heng, which I like.

My main system is tai chi chuan, and I supplement with whatever I find useful/like at the time..

3. Dan Bian

Dan Bian Neither Dan, nor Brian

Like cloudz, I've done a little xingyi. Mainly Santi, Beng Quan and some neigong. And again, like cloudz, my main style is Taijiquan, although I do a little baguazhang as well (though not to any great level)

4. shaolin_al

shaolin_al Valued Member

I've just started myself. so for ive learned some of its qigong and learned the first 3 elements pi zuan and beng along with their 2 person drills. in the past i've done a little sun style baguazhang also.

5. Putrid

Putrid Moved on

I have practiced Sun style xingyi for around seven years.Its very difficult and progress is slow but I do enjoy it.

6. Mr Smiles

Mr Smiles Valued Member

Erm just started. Babysteps it is so for now santi, than the 5 elements. (if thats what its called, just started and dont really know the system yet)

7. shaolin_al

shaolin_al Valued Member

just to give everyone an update I have recently learned wuxingquan or the 5 element linking form and next will be moving on to the animals.

8. Owen_Schilling

Owen_Schilling New Member

Hebei Xingyi Quan Yi Zong branch, 12 years :)

9. herbert

herbert Valued Member

Yep,
    Only a few years though.
    Hebei style from Li Cun Yi, through Chu Gui Ting.