What type of cardio is needed to burn fat?

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by AbsoluteHardcor, Jul 22, 2008.

1. AbsoluteHardcor

AbsoluteHardcor Valued Member

I'm fairly new to CV training and working out in general, and I didn't see a newbie thread in this section so I wanted to ask a fairly basic question.

How intense of cardio training do I need to do to purely burn fat? I am not looking to lose weight, and I'm actually going to try to bulk up about 10 pounds. I'm currently 155lb, but most of my weight is fat. I'm trying to get into the 165-170 range, but also want to do the right type of cardio to burn off the pre-existing fat.

Right now I run 2.5 miles a day on the treadmill but thats it. Very basic I know, but how can I improve my CV routine to burn fat?

2. Semper Fi

Semper Fi Valued Member

You can start by taking a look at your diet. You can increase your cardio's intensity all you want but if you are eating more then you can burn then it's not gonna do you one bit of good as far as burning extra fat.

3. Gong_Sau_Rick

Gong_Sau_Rick ultimate WSL nutrider

Yep, I agree with Semper Fi, cardio can only take you so far in terms of weight loss. If you're already breaking into a big sweat everyday and pushing yourself that should be enough cardio (for weight loss). You need to think about how you can improve your diet.

4. Yohan

Yohan In the Spirit of Yohan Supporter

thread won

5. AbsoluteHardcor

I'm working on my diet in conjunction with the cardio. The thing is I'm not trying to lose weight so I plan on changing my diet to actually eat more (and healthier) than I do right now, I just want to tune my cardio to burn fat (if possible).

So do I just keep running 2.5 miles a day? I get a really good sweat out of it and I push myself to make sure I'm out of breath by the time I'm finished. What about HIT? Do I need to change to that?

6. Semper Fi

Semper Fi Valued Member