What part of the fist do you hit with?

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by Young Noob, Apr 16, 2012.

1. Young Noob

Young Noob Valued Member

I have been studying Hap Ki Do for 3 years and I have been told to strike with the index and middle knuckles by my teacher. A visiting instructor said to hit with the index (2nd) and middle (3rd) proximal phalanges. I have also been told to hit with the middle knuckle so that the fist doesn't accidentally roll laterally.

How do you strike with a fist? And WHY

2. AndrewTheAndroid

AndrewTheAndroid A hero for fun.

With the first and second knuckles so I don't get another boxer's fracture.

3. seiken steve

seiken steve golden member

Depends on style,punch, angle etc

using the first two knuckes is what i was always taught and stuck too.

I think if your hand is 45 degrees (palm facing diagonally acrross and down your body) i'd use the first two knuckes (seiken)
    If you palm's facing down id use the middle two.

I wrap my hands up in a load of bandages then shove it in a 4/8/10oz glove before i punch things though so why listen to me :p

4. Fish Of Doom

Fish Of Doom Will : Mind : Motion Supporter

first two or whole fist.

5. Smitfire

Smitfire Cactus Schlong

I'm lucky if I can hit with any bits of my fist so am grateful for what I can get. :)

6. Young Noob

Young Noob Valued Member

What about bare fist to a jaw or skull? I know it's not recomended but hypothetically...

7. Fish Of Doom

then you want a good angle, not a good striking surface.

8. Young Noob

Young Noob Valued Member

I would argue that you'd want both, but I understand what you mean.

9. Fish Of Doom

well duh :p

10. Devil Hanzo

Devil Hanzo Doesn't tap to heel-hooks

Tiny little finger bones versus large solid skull designed to take damage from the front. You decide the victor.

11. Devil Hanzo