What does your school do?

Discussion in 'Kuk Sool' started by Humbleseeker, Jun 15, 2013.

1. Humbleseeker

Humbleseeker Valued Member

Ok I am a newbie to martial arts been training for almost 3 months and getting close to testing for my yellow stripe. My school has two stripes per belt is that regular? My first test will include 1-3 of Ki cho Hyung and Ki bohn soo 1-5 and I am sure various other kicks and punches.

2. Dave76

Dave76 Valued Member

We have two stripes per belt color too. It is not normal but not unheard of either. In my school there is only four belt colors with three levels to each color. The stripes are colored electrical tape. This is done to save people money. We don't have to get a new belt every few months when new. This especially helps the families that train with us. We also don't pay a testing fee unless changing belt color and that fee mostly just pays for your new belt, which is included in the promotion. I am not in Kuk Sool though, I study a modern form of Ju-Jitsu.

3. Humbleseeker

Yea my school uses electrical tape as well. I think testing is $10 bucks per stripe and $30 per belt. Except black I do not know how much that is I am sure it is in the hundreds.

I am still really liking martial arts I feel like I am getting back into the shape I was in during my military service. Also after 3 months I can see physical changes in my body such as loosing gut and increased cardio and muscle. It really is something I am glad I started before getting to much older.

4. philosoraptor

philosoraptor carnivore in a top hat Supporter

$50 a belt? I think you should get something nicer than electrical tape for $10, but that's just me. My coach gives me 'em for free! :D

5. Humbleseeker

Yea when you look at it that way we should just get them for free with the cost of lessons. lol

6. Mitch

Mitch Lord Mitch of MAP Admin