What does "in the guard" mean?

Discussion in 'MMA' started by pitchblack70, Nov 15, 2003.

1. pitchblack70

pitchblack70 New Member

I'm a Fuji-Ryu jujitsu student (yellow-green belt), and our style includes sports jujitsu (ie: mat grappling.)

I've been trying to supplement my training with reading, and wanted to know the basic question, what do the BJJ people mean when they talk about being in someone's guard? What's the exact concept we're discussing here? (I want to learn a few tricks on the side, go into the dojo and be impressive--and I think I need to get some theory down in order to do just that!)

Thanks in advance,

--Janet

2. YODA

YODA The Woofing Admin Supporter

3. Terry Matthes

Terry Matthes New Member

Guard position is lying flat on your back and having your legs wrapped around your opponent's back or at least having there legs inside yours. If you are "in guard" then you are the person who has their opponents legs wrapped around their back.

4. pitchblack70

pitchblack70 New Member

So....is guard position a good thing?

IE: It's a good thing to have your opponent on their back, with your legs inside theirs? (Just doublechecking...)

5. YODA

No - it isn't.

6. Andrew Green

Andrew Green Member

no no no Terry

Flat on back is generally bad, get up on a hip ;)

7. Cyph

Cyph Banned Banned

on the street, you don't really want to have someone in you guard - they can pick you up and slam you down, punch away at you which will require a good guard so you don't hurt yourself.

the guard is deceptive, in that the person on his back looks to be in an inferior position, but the guard can be an entangling web for your opponent. there are many submissions and sweeps which can be used from the guard.

8. Terry Matthes

Terry Matthes New Member

All I meant to explain was a general idea of position.

9. YODA

Good thoughts - Tres Bon in fact :D